How many books did Moses write?

Posted by on Sep 23, 2020

Question: How many books did Moses write?

Answer: It is well known that Mosheh (Moses) wrote the first five books of the Scripture: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy, or Torah in Hebrew.

In the article “The Messenger of His Face and how Torah was given to Israel“, we explained that Mosheh would not have known how the world had been created, unless it had been revealed to him by someone. The following books, Exodus, Leviticus, and Numbers, were a direct revelation, and the last book, Deuteronomy, was the last address of the greatest statesman to the nation of Israel in which he led the new generation that was born in the desert into the Covenant of YHVH before they entered the Promised Land.

But there are two more writings that were left in the shadow of the great Torah of the Creator, namely, Psalms 90 and 91.

In the Jewish tradition, Psalms 90 and 91 are read over a person tormented by an evil spirit, or one afflicted by an incurable disease, in the Name of El Shaddai. Both psalms in the form of a prayer were often recited at night and before sleeping. 

The psalms of Mosheh the man of Elohim were probably the psalms David sang, along with others, in order to exorcise demons from King Shaul in 1Sa 16:14-23.

Other psalms used to expel evil spirits were: Psa 3:1-8, Psa 10:1-18, Psa 23, Psa 85:1-8, Psa 121:1-8, and Psa 126:1-6.